中文

 

我们是谁

总法律顾问办公室的律师

总法律顾问办公室由有着各种不同背景和经验的律师组成。下面是其中一些总法律顾问办公室的律师要说的话:

“离开一家AmLaw 100律师事务所来中情局工作是我在职业选择上做出的最好决定。有趣的工作、聪明过人、认真负责的同事们是我只有在大的律师事务所才能期望的 。这里我可以不用担心按时收费、还有这里对家庭的承诺、对在中情局以外活动的尊重和鼓励,让我在工作中快乐无比。”-- 一个中情局外侧律师

“在一间小型的非盈利组织做内部法律顾问10年以后,我来到了总法律顾问办公室,我对我的决定十分高兴。在总法律顾问办公室 的工作最吸引人的地方之一是你不断学习新的东西。工作机会变更之间为雇员所提供的持续教育支持、在友善的环境中跟律师们交流想法和意见,都让我觉得总法律顾问办公室的确是一个令人难以置信而且充满活力的工作场所。”-- 一个中情局外侧律师

“我在总法律顾问办公室是从做夏季的法律书记员开始,通过荣誉项目在作为律师方面成长,以及继续在这里的职业生涯给了我很好的机会。我个人认为在总法律顾问办公室工作的最大好处是你可以在不更换雇主的情况下,做很多各种不同的工作。我有机会在中央情报局之外的两个岗位轮流任职, 一个是空军,另一个是在司法部刑事部门当出庭律师,学到了情报界以外的宝贵经验和洞察力。在该办公室可获得的灵活性、创造性的职务,几乎与所有其它法律部门的工作截然不同。这里面對的挑战、种类、和学习新法律领域的可能性使得每一天的工作都是不同的,而经验的多样化对我是非常有益的。”  --一个现今中情局律师

“我是在担任夏季法律书记员的时候加入了中情局的。通过夏季法律书记员的项目,我接触到中情局内范围广泛的法律实例, 并学到了有关中情局和情报界的不少知识。法学院毕业以后,通过荣誉项目我回到了中情局。作为一名荣誉律师,我每天与客户打交道,在各种有趣的法律问题上提供指导。这里所出现的法律问题往往与其它地方出现的问题类似,但它们始终带有中情局独特之处,使在这里从事法律更具有挑战性和趣味性” 。  --一个美国中情局荣誉律师


Posted: Mar 23, 2012 12:14 PM
Last Updated: Mar 26, 2012 08:06 AM

Offices of CIA

 

Who We Are

OGC's Attorneys

The Office of General Counsel consists of attorneys with a variety of backgrounds and experience. Here is what a few of them have to say about OGC:

"Leaving an AmLaw 100 firm to come to CIA was the best career move I've made. Here, I've found the interesting work and the smart and dedicated colleagues that I'd come to expect at a big firm -- but I have also discovered the joys of practicing law without billable hours and in an environment where commitments to family and other outside activities are both respected and encouraged." -- A lateral CIA attorney

"I came to OGC after 10 years as in-house counsel to a small nonprofit and could not be happier with my decision. One of the most appealing aspects of working in OGC is that you are constantly learning something new. Between the opportunities for job change, the support for ongoing education, and the collegial environment in which attorneys share ideas and opinions, OGC is an incredibly dynamic place to work." -- A lateral CIA attorney

"Starting in OGC as a Summer Law Clerk, growing as an attorney through the Honors Program, and continuing a career here has given me wonderful opportunities. In my opinion, the best part of working in OGC is the variety of jobs you can have, without changing employers. I have had a chance to serve two rotational assignments outside of CIA -- one with the Air Force and a second as a Trial Attorney in the Criminal Division of the Department of Justice, gaining valuable experience and insight into areas outside of the Intelligence Community. The flexibility of the office, and the number of creative assignments available, is different from nearly every other legal sector job. The challenge, the variety, and the potential to learn new areas of law means every day is different and the experience is rewarding in very diverse ways." -- A current CIA attorney

"I joined the Agency as a Summer Law Clerk. Through the Summer Law Clerk program, I gained exposure to the Agency's wide-ranging legal practice and learned a lot about the Agency and the Intelligence Community. After finishing law school, I returned to the Agency through the Honors Program. As an Honors Attorney, I interact daily with clients and provide guidance on a variety of interesting legal issues. The legal issues that arise here are often similar to issues that would arise elsewhere, but they always have an Agency-unique twist that makes practicing law here challenging and interesting." -- A CIA Honors attorney


Posted: May 11, 2007 12:23 AM
Last Updated: Jan 23, 2013 10:34 AM