中文

 

历史

情报处成立于1952年,其目的是为了协助总统和其他决策者对我国的国家安全作出明智的决策。情报分析师查看综合所有可用的信息,并进行组织,提供给决策者,这样他们有更多的选择来思考。分析师的分析库中往往充斥着不完整、自相矛盾的、从世界各处收集来的支离片断的组合信息。从现在已失效的早期的重要主题,到今天铺天盖地的信息量,信息来自各种渠道和方法,包括美国的海外人员以及來自线民的报告、卫星摄影、国外媒体报道和先进的传感器。

多年来,情报处一直负责涵盖危机和冲突,确定趋势和诠释问题的工作。它提供了无处可得的、及时的信息和见解,并被递交到关键人物手中。它的作用在于告知决策者,使冷战不发展成热战,而且现在它对于发动打击恐怖主义的全球战争起着至关重要的作用。

情报处历史中的关键事件

20世纪40年代

1946 -报告和预算 (ORE) 办公室是跨中央情报组创建的一个做情报研究、撰写每日分析报告、并为政策制定者编写长期国家情报评估的机构。

1947 -杜鲁门(Truman)总统签署了1947年成立中央情报局的国家安全法。

20世纪50年代

1950 –當时擔任中央情报总监(DCI)的沃尔特•比德尔•史密斯(Walter Bedell Smith)将中央情报组分为3个办公室:国家评估办公室,创建协调的“国家评估”;研究报告办公室,从事基础研究的处;当前情报办公室,为政策制定者撰写分析摘要和简报。

1952 –情报处的的史密斯(Smith)建立了情报处,以取代报告和评估办公室,精简了情报分析程序。杜鲁门(Truman)总统,这位中央情报公报的忠实读者,指示中央情报局向总统候选人艾森豪威尔(Eisenhower)和史蒂文森(Stevenson)做简报,这种做法一直延续至今。

1956 –第一个U- 2高空侦察任务;情报分析师对苏联轰炸机部队规模发展的真实估计起到了关键的作用。

20世纪60年代

1960–情报主任(DDI)创建一个小的工作人员团队,以确认可受益于自动信息处理支持的情报问题。工作人员确认苏联国防开支是一个关键问题,工作开始集中于战略成本的分析模式。

1963 –中央情报局24小时行动中心成立。

1964 –约翰逊(Johnson)总统希望每个工作日结束时能看到情报报告,这也成为总统的每日简报。

20世纪70年代

1973 –国家情报委员会(NIC)启动成立了国家情报官制度,就关键问题提供专家来在政府机构之间咨询和协调。

1976 –在回应有关情报界对未来苏联军事实力分析的批评意见时,中央情报总监乔治•布什(George Bush)批准了A/B梯队作为国家情报评估工作团队的竞争分析练习的一部分,“苏联的洲际冲突的力量一直到80年代中期。”

1977 –情报处被重组及易名为国家对外评估中心(NFAC),其中包括政策支持、区域和政治分析、科学情报、及武器情报各办公室。

20世纪80年代

1980 –国家对外评估中心创设了武器控制和情报人员,在军备控制问题上提供情报支持。

1981 –国家对外评估中心创设了技术转移评估中心,在国际技术转移问题上提供分析和情报支持。同年晚些时候,国家对外评估中心再次改组,并改名为情报处,大多数职能科室分改组为跨区域办事处。

1986 –在行动处下建立的反恐行动中心,以协助打击国际恐怖分子的威胁。情报官员以其分析能力提供区域和职能的专业技能,这是第一个结合分析和行动的永久单位。

1988 –反谍报中心成立;与反恐中心一样,它包括情报官员提供的分析支持。

1989 –中央情报总监的反毒品中心 (DCI CNC)成立的目的是将中央情报局各处、情报界、执法和政策机构人员汇集在一起。

20世纪90年代

1992 –中央情报总监的反扩散中心成立的目的是加强情报处与防止大规模杀伤性武器扩散的政策界的互动。

1997 –情报处的5个区域分析办事处改组为3个。中央情报总监的反扩散中心增加了额外的分析部门,创建了一个高级科学家的职位,从而创造了情报界最集中的反扩散专家团队。

1998 –耶利米(Jeremiah)委员会审查情报界对印度的表现及其未经对外宣布的核试验项目;委员会提供建议,以加强情报界的分析预警能力。情报处政策支持办事处成立的目的是提高对政策界的情报支持质量。

1999 –12月,情报处创建了谢尔曼•肯特(Sherman Kent)情报分析学院,以加强情报分析师及其管理人员的专业了解、专长和技能。

21世纪

2000 –第一个职业分析师课程(CAP)的毕业生11月从谢尔曼•肯特(Sherman Kent)情报分析学院毕业,为所有新加入中情局的分析家职位的人员开创了以职业分析师课程专业学习为核心的先河。

2001 –中央情报总监的武器情报、防扩散和军备控制中心 (WINPAC)成立后,将所有外国武器威胁的各类专家汇集到一个中心来。9月11日的恐怖袭击后,现有的反恐中心分析单位明显扩大,并改名为恐怖主义分析办公室。

–回应9.11事件时,中央情报总监特奈(Tenet)要求情报主任创造一个“红色细胞”的单位,以非传统性、全面地考虑任何相关的一系列的分析问题。中央情报总监的“红色细胞”突出地采用“独特, 具有创造性以及不合常规”的思维方式,来生产旨在激发思考,而不仅仅提供权威评估的备忘录。

2002–情报处庆祝成立50周年。

-中央情报局大学 (CIAU)创建以装备所有那些有着共同价值观、效忠使命、知识、并掌握情报业技巧及卓越智慧和领导能力的中情局官员,来完成我们国家的特殊任务。中央情报局大学链接了所有现有中央情报局的培训项目,如情报处的谢尔曼•肯特(Sherman Kent)情报分析学院,成为中情局的第一所机构大学,并创建遍及整个中情局的新学校,为中情局的全体官员提供综合培训,其中包括中情局使命、谍报知识、领导能力和外语培训。

2003 –情报处收集要求和工作评估的人员(CRES)被重组,并在四月份更名为收集策略及分析办公室(CSAA)。有许多因素促使了这种调整,其中最重要的是获得更大的灵活性,支持全球涉及的问题,增强对优先问题的分析资源,加强情报处推动未来收集情报计划的能力。


-伊拉克分析办公室十一月建立,集中和扩大了情报处就某个主要国家安全优先问题研究和分析工作的能力。

2004 –9 /11调查委员会7月公布的报告,提出从9/11美国遭受恐怖袭击的经验教训中学到如何更好地收集、分析、及组织情报的建议。

–8月份,国家反恐中心(NCTC)建立,以协调和监督所有政府机构和部门的反恐计划和活动,以确保在根据提供给美国政府情报的基础上有效的联合行动。许多情报处分析家都被派到反恐中心工作。


-情报改革及恐怖主义预防法,于2004年12月成为法律,并设置了美国国家情报总监一职,或称DNI,以协调和带动整个情报界。中央情报总监(DCI)职位失去了此功能,现在需要向国家情报总监报告,重新命名为中央情报局局长,或称DCIA。

2005 –公布了美国有关大规模杀伤性武器情报能力委员会的报告。该委员会一般被称为大规模杀伤性武器委员会。该报告批评了中情局和情报界在评估伊拉克存在大规模杀伤性武器的表现,并为改善情报工作的表现,及学到的经验教训提出建议。


Posted: Mar 23, 2012 12:14 PM
Last Updated: Mar 26, 2012 08:01 AM

Offices of CIA

 

History

The DI was established in 1952 to help the President and other policymakers make informed decisions about our country’s national security. DI analysts look at all the available information on an issue and organize it for policymakers to give them more ideas on how to think about it. The grist for the analysts’ mill is a mix of often incomplete and frequently contradictory fragments of information collected around—and above—the world. From a near-void on vital topics during the early years to an overwhelming volume today, the information has come from a variety of sources and methods, including US personnel overseas as well as agent reports, satellite photography, foreign media, and sophisticated sensors.

Over the years, the DI has covered crises and confrontations, identified trends, and illuminated issues. It has produced timely information and insights available nowhere else and put them into the right hands. In so doing, it informed the decisionmaking that kept the Cold War from becoming a hot war, and it now plays a vital role in waging the global war against terrorism.

 

Key Events in DI History


1940s

1946 – The Office of Reports and Estimates (ORE) is created under an interagency Central Intelligence Group to do intelligence research, produce daily analytic reports, and write longer-term National Intelligence Estimates for policymakers.

1947 – President Truman signs the National Security Act of 1947 creating the CIA.

 

1950s

1950 – Director of Central Intelligence (DCI) Walter Bedell Smith divides ORE into three offices: the Office of National Estimates, which produces coordinated “national estimates”; the Office of Research and Report, which conducts basic research; and the Office of Current Intelligence, tasked with writing analytic summaries and other brief products for policymakers.

1952 – DCI Smith establishes the Directorate of Intelligence to replace ORE and streamline the production of finished intelligence analysis. President Truman, an avid reader of the Central Intelligence Bulletin, directs CIA to brief presidential candidates Eisenhower and Stevenson, a practice that continues today.

1956 – First U-2 aerial reconnaissance missions; DI analysts play a key role in developing realistic estimates of the size of the Soviet bomber force.

 

1960s

1960 – The Director of Intelligence (DDI) creates a small staff to identify intelligence problems that could benefit from automated information processing support. The staff identifies Soviet defense spending as a key problem and work begins on the Strategic Cost Analysis Model.

1963 – The 24-hour CIA Operations Center is established.

1964 – President Johnson wants his intelligence product at the close of each business day—this becomes the President’s Daily Brief.

 

1970s

1973 – The National Intelligence Officer system is initiated under the National Intelligence Council (NIC) to provide experts to advise and coordinate between agencies on key issues.

1976 – In response to criticism about Intelligence Community analysis on future Soviet military strength, DCI George Bush approves a Team A/Team B competitive analysis exercise as part of the National Intelligence Estimate, “Soviet Forces for Intercontinental Conflict Through the Mid-1980s.”

1977 – The DI is reorganized and renamed the National Foreign Assessment Center (NFAC), which includes a Center for Policy Support and the Offices of Regional and Political Analysis, Scientific Intelligence, and Weapons Intelligence.

 

1980s

1980 – The Arms Control and Intelligence Staff is established in NFAC for intelligence support on arms control issues.

1981 – NFAC creates the Technology Transfer Assessment Center to do analytic and intelligence support on international technology transfer issues. Later the same year, NFAC is again reorganized and renamed the DI; most functional offices are restructured into interdisciplinary regional offices.

1986 – The Counterterrorism Center is established under the Directorate of Operations to help combat international terrorist threats. DI officers serve in its analytic components to provide regional and functional expertise—the first permanent unit combining analysis and operations.

1988 – The Counterintelligence Center is established; like the Counterterrorism Center, it includes DI officers who provide analytic support.

1989 – The DCI Counternarcotics Center is established to bring together officers from across CIA, the Intelligence Community, law enforcement, and policy agencies.

 

1990s

1992 – The DCI Nonproliferation Center is established to strengthen DI interaction with the policy community on the proliferation of weapons of mass destruction.

1997 – The DI’s five regional analytic offices are reconfigured into three. The DCI Nonproliferation Center adds additional analytic components and establishes a Senior Scientist position, thereby creating the largest concentration of proliferation experts in the Intelligence Community.

1998 – The Jeremiah Commission reviews the Intelligence Community’s performance on India and its unannounced nuclear test; the Commission offers recommendations to enhance the Community’s analytic warning capabilities. The DI’s Office of Policy Support is established to improve the quality of DI support to the policy community.

1999 – In December, the DI creates the Sherman Kent School For Intelligence Analysis to strengthen the professional understanding, expertise, and skills of intelligence analysts and those who manage them.

 

2000s

2000 – The first Career Analyst Program (CAP) class graduates from the Sherman Kent School in November, establishing the CAP as the core professional learning program for all new analysts joining CIA.

2001 – The DCI Center for Weapons Intelligence, Nonproliferation, and Arms Control is established, bringing together experts on all types of foreign weapons threats into one center. After the 11 September terrorist attacks, the existing analytic component in the Counterterrorism Center is significantly expanded and renamed the Office of Terrorism Analysis.

–In response to the events of 11 September, DCI Tenet tasked the DDI to create a “red cell” that would think unconventionally about the full range of relevant analytic issues. The DCI Red Cell takes a pronounced “out-of-the-box” approach and produces memos intended to provoke thought rather than to provide authoritative assessment.

2002 – The DI celebrates its 50th anniversary.

–CIA University is created to equip all CIA officers with the shared values, commitment to mission, knowledge, and excellence in intelligence tradecraft and leadership needed to accomplish the extraordinary tasks in their service to our nation. CIAU links together all existing CIA training programs, such as the DI Sherman Kent School, into CIA's first corporate university, and creates new CIA-wide schools to provide integrated training for all CIA officers in Agency mission and tradecraft knowledge, leadership, and foreign languages.

2003 – The DI Collection Requirements and Evaluation Staff (CRES) is reorganized and renamed the Office of Collection Strategies and Analysis (CSAA) in April. A number of factors drove this realignment, foremost of which were gaining greater flexibility in supporting global coverage issues, increasing analytic resources against high-priority issues, and strengthening the Directorate’s ability to drive future collection programs.

–The Office of Iraq Analysis is created in November to concentrate and expand the Directorate’s research and analysis effort on a major national security priority.

2004 – The 9/11 Commission Report is published in July, and provides recommendations on how to improve the collection, analysis, and organization of intelligence in light of lessons learned from the 11 September terrorist attacks on the United States.

–In August, a National Counterterrorism Center (NCTC) is created to coordinate and monitor counterterrorism plans and activities of all government agencies and departments to ensure effective joint action based on all intelligence available to the US government. Numerous DI analysts are assigned to work in NCTC.

–The Intelligence Reform and Terrorism Prevention Act of 2004 becomes law in December and creates the position of Director of National Intelligence, or DNI, to coordinate and lead the entire Intelligence Community. The Director of Central Intelligence (DCI) loses this function, and now reports to the DNI, re-named as the Director of the Central Intelligence Agency, or DCIA.

2005 – The report of the Commission on the Intelligence Capabilities of the United States Regarding Weapons of Mass Destruction, more commonly referred to as the WMD Commission is published. The report critiques the performance of the CIA and the Intelligence Community in their assessments of the presence of WMD in Iraq, and offers recommendations for improving intelligence performance, drawing upon lessons learned from this effort.


Posted: Apr 25, 2007 07:14 AM
Last Updated: Jan 23, 2013 09:11 AM