7 of 8

Congo, Democratic Republic of the

Boyoma Falls, formerly known as Stanley Falls, is a series of seven cataracts, each no more than 5 m high. The falls extend over 100 km along the Lualaba River between the river port towns of Ubundu and Kisangani (also known as Boyoma) in the Democratic Republic of the Congo. The last of the seven cataracts is also known as the Wagenia Falls, referring to the local Wagenya fishermen, who continue to fish by traditional methods in the river.