3 of 4

El Salvador

San Salvador (Holy Savior) has been the capital of El Salvador since 1839. It is located on the Ace Chaute River in the Boquerón Volcano Valley, a region of high seismic activity. Devastated by earthquakes in 1854, 1873, 1917, and 1986 and by heavy floods in 1934, it has been reconstructed with modern government buildings, scenic parks, and plazas. San Salvador has a tropical wet and dry climate, and enjoys very warm to hot weather all year round.