5 of 5

European Union

A virtually cloud-free view of Central Europe vividly displays the fishhook-shaped Carpathian Mountains that snake through the middle of the continent. Encompassed in this satellite view are all of Poland, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Romania, Slovenia, Greece, and all of the Balkan countries. Large parts of Lithuania, Belarus, Ukraine, Turkey, and Italy are also visible. Scattered fires are visible as red dots. Image courtesy of NASA.