5 of 29


The Rock Islands are limestone islands in Palau’s Southern Lagoon, between Koror and Peleliu, that are now part of Koror State. There are between 250 and 300 islands in the group according to different sources, with an aggregate area of 47 sq km (18 sq mi) and a height up to 207 m (679 ft). They became a World Heritage Site in 2012. The islands are sparsely populated and are famous for their beaches, blue lagoons, and the peculiar mushroom- or umbrella-like shapes of many of the islands.