The Coat of Arms of the Philippines was adopted on 3 July 1946. “Pale ways of two pieces, azure and gules; a chief argent studded with three golden stars equidistant from each other; in point of honor, ovoid argent over all the sun rayonnant with eight minor and lesser rays; in sinister base gules, the Lion Rampant of Spain; in dexter base azure, the American eagle displayed proper. Beneath, a scroll with the words ‘Republika ng Pilipinas’ inscribed thereon.” The three gold stars represent the major island groups of Luzon, the Visayas, and Mindanao. The rays of the sun represent the provinces of the Philippines. The American eagle and Lion of Spain represent the nations colonial past.