1 of 8

Solomon Islands

The Solomon Islands consist of two major island groups, the western New Georgia Islands and the eastern Santa Cruz Islands. This Landsat image shows some of the islands of the former group. The nearly circular island in the upper left is Kolombangara. Then, proceeding clockwise, is the large island of New Georgia, and the smaller islands of Vangunu, Tetepare, and Rendova. Located along two geologic plate boundaries, the islands are prone to volcanism, earthquakes, and tsunamis. Image courtesy of NASA.