# **BRITISH INDIAN OCEAN TERRITORY**





-5	71 72	73
-5	PEROS BANHOS SALOMON ISLANDS	
	INDIAN OCEAN Island	
-6	THREE EAGLE BROTHERS ISLANDS	
	CHAGOS	
	Danger Island ARCHIPELAGO	
	EGMONT ISLANDS	
-7		
	Diego Garcia	
	71 0 20 40 mi 72	73

## INTRODUCTION

Formerly administered as part of the British Crown Colony of Mauritius, the British Indian Ocean Territory (BIOT) was established as an overseas territory of the UK in 1965. A number of the islands of the territory were later transferred to the Seychelles when it attained independence in 1976.

#### GOVERNMENT

**Chief of State** 

Queen ELIZABETH II

Head of Government

Commissioner Ben MERRICK

#### Government Type

Overseas Territory of the UK; administered by a commissioner, resident in the UK

#### Capital

Diego Garcia, the largest and most southerly of the islands, is inhabited, and serves as a joint UK-US naval support facility

#### Legislature

NA

## GEOGRAPHY

#### Area

total: 60 sq km land: 60 sq km (44 Diego Garcia) water: 54,340 sq km **note:** includes the entire Chagos Archipelago of 55 islands **Climate** 

tropical marine; hot, humid, moderated by trade winds

#### **Natural Resources**

good natural harbor in the lagoon of Diego Garcia

## ECONOMY

### **Economic Overview**

small island territory economy; economic activity mainly on Diego Garcia with national military installations; recently settled disputes with Mauritius have increased oil exports; established marine reserve has limited commercial fishing

**GDP (Purchasing Power Parity)** 

NA

GDP per capita (Purchasing Power Parity)

NA Exports

NA

Imports

NA

## **PEOPLE & SOCIETY**

#### Population

approximately 3,000 UK and US military personnel and civilian contractors living on the island of Diego Garcia

**note:** approximately 1,200 former agricultural workers resident in the Chagos Archipelago, often referred to as Chagossians or Ilois, were relocated to Mauritius and the Seychelles in the 1960s and 1970s (2018)

## **Population Growth**

NA

## Ethnicity

no indigenous inhabitants

## Language

NA

#### Religion NA

Urbanization

NA Literacy

NA