Australia-Oceania :: Coral Sea Islands
(territory of Australia)

Introduction ::Coral Sea Islands

    Scattered over more than three-quarters of a million square kilometers of ocean, the Coral Sea Islands were declared a territory of Australia in 1969. They are uninhabited except for a small meteorological staff on the Willis Islets. Automated weather stations, beacons, and a lighthouse occupy many other islands and reefs. The Coral Sea Islands Act 1969 was amended in 1997 to extend the boundaries of the Coral Sea Islands Territory around Elizabeth and Middleton Reefs.

Geography ::Coral Sea Islands

People and Society ::Coral Sea Islands

    no indigenous inhabitants
    note: there is a staff of three to four at the meteorological station on Willis Island (July 2007 est.)

Government ::Coral Sea Islands

Communications ::Coral Sea Islands