Australia-Oceania :: Norfolk Island
(territory of Australia)

Introduction ::Norfolk Island

    Two British attempts at establishing the island as a penal colony (1788-1814 and 1825-55) were ultimately abandoned. In 1856, the island was resettled by Pitcairn Islanders, descendants of the Bounty mutineers and their Tahitian companions.

Geography ::Norfolk Island

People and Society ::Norfolk Island

Government ::Norfolk Island

    conventional long form: Territory of Norfolk Island
    conventional short form: Norfolk Island
    self-governing territory of Australia; administered from Canberra by the Department of Regional Australia, Local Government, Arts and Sport
    name: Kingston
    geographic coordinates: 29 03 S, 167 58 E
    time difference: UTC+11.5 (16.5 hours ahead of Washington, DC during Standard Time)
    none (territory of Australia)
    none (territory of Australia)
    Bounty Day (commemorates the arrival of Pitcairn Islanders), 8 June (1856)
    Norfolk Island Act 1979; amended 2005
    English common law and the laws of Australia
    18 years of age; universal
    chief of state: Queen ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952); represented by the Australian governor general
    head of government: Administrator Neil POPE (since 1 April 2012)
    cabinet: Executive Council made up of 4 of the 9 members of the Legislative Assembly; the council devises government policy and acts as an advisor to the administrator
    (For more information visit the World Leaders website Opens in New Window)
    elections: the monarchy is hereditary; governor general appointed by the monarch; administrator appointed by the governor general of Australia for a two year term and represents the monarch and Australia
    unicameral Legislative Assembly (9 seats; members elected by electors who have nine equal votes each but only four votes can be given to any one candidate; members to serve three-year terms)
    elections: last held on 13 March 2013 (next to be held in 2016)
    election results: seats - independents 8; Norfolk Liberals 1
    highest court(s): Supreme Court of Norfolk Island (consists of the chief justice and NA justices)
    note - appeals beyond the Supreme Court of Norfolk Island are heard by the Federal Court of Australia
    judge selection and term of office: justices appointed by the governor general of Australia from among justices of the Federal Court of Australia; justices serve until mandatory retirement at age 70
    subordinate courts: Petty Court of Sessions; specialized courts including a Coroner's Court and the Employment Tribunal
    Norfolk Island Labor Party [Mike KELLY]
    Norfolk Liberals [John BROWN]
    none (territory of Australia)
    none (territory of Australia)
    three vertical bands of green (hoist side), white, and green with a large green Norfolk Island pine tree centered in the slightly wider white band; green stands for the rich vegetation on the island, and the pine tree - endemic to the island - is a symbol of Norfolk Island
    note: somewhat reminiscent of the flag of Canada with its use of only two colors and depiction of a prominent local floral symbol in the central white band
    Norfolk Island pine
    name: "Come Ye Blessed"
    lyrics/music: New Testament/John Prindle SCOTT
    note: the local anthem, whose lyrics consist of the words from Matthew 25:34-36, 40, is also known as "The Pitcairn Anthem;" as a territory of Australia, "God Save the Queen" is official (see Australia), however, the island does not recognize "Advance Australia Fair"

Economy ::Norfolk Island

Communications ::Norfolk Island

    general assessment: adequate
    domestic: free local calls
    international: country code - 672; submarine cable links with Australia and New Zealand; satellite earth station - 1
    1 local radio station; broadcasts of several Australian radio and TV stations available via satellite (2009)
    128 (2012)
    country comparison to the world: 204

Transportation ::Norfolk Island