North America :: Saint Pierre and Miquelon
(territorial overseas collectivity of France)

Introduction ::Saint Pierre and Miquelon

    First settled by the French in the early 17th century, the islands represent the sole remaining vestige of France's once vast North American possessions.

Geography ::Saint Pierre and Miquelon

People and Society ::Saint Pierre and Miquelon

Government ::Saint Pierre and Miquelon

    conventional long form: Territorial Collectivity of Saint Pierre and Miquelon
    conventional short form: Saint Pierre and Miquelon
    local long form: Departement de Saint-Pierre et Miquelon
    local short form: Saint-Pierre et Miquelon
    self-governing territorial overseas collectivity of France
    parliamentary representative democracy
    name: Saint-Pierre
    geographic coordinates: 46 46 N, 56 11 W
    time difference: UTC-3 (2 hours ahead of Washington, DC during Standard Time)
    daylight saving time: +1hr, begins second Sunday in March; ends first Sunday in November
    none (territorial overseas collectivity of France); note - there are no first-order administrative divisions as defined by the US Government, but there are two communes - Saint Pierre, Miquelon at the second order
    none (territorial collectivity of France; has been under French control since 1763)
    Fete de la Federation, 14 July (1789)
    4 October 1958 (French Constitution)
    French civil law
    18 years of age; universal
    chief of state: President Francois HOLLANDE (since 15 May 2012); represented by Prefect Patrice LATRON (since 16 November 2011)
    head of government: President of the Territorial Council Stephane ARTANO (since 21 February 2007)
    cabinet: NA
    (For more information visit the World Leaders website Opens in New Window)
    elections: French president elected by popular vote for a five-year term; election last held on 6 May 2012 (next to be held in 2017); prefect appointed by the French president on the advice of the French Ministry of Interior; president of the Territorial Council elected by the members of the council
    unicameral Territorial Council or Conseil Territorial (19 seats, 15 from Saint Pierre and 4 from Miquelon; members elected by popular vote to serve six-year terms)
    elections: elections last held on 18 March 2012 (next to be held in March 2018)
    election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - NA
    note: Saint Pierre and Miquelon elect one member to the French Senate; elections last held on 21 September 2008 (next to be held in September 2014); results - percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - UMP 1; Saint Pierre and Miquelon also elects one member to the French National Assembly; elections last held on 17 June 2012 (next to be held by June 2017); results - percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - PRG 1
    highest court(s): Superior Tribunal of Appeals or Tribunal Superieur d'Appel (composition NA)
    judge selection and term of office: judge selection and tenure NA
    subordinate courts: NA
    Archipelago Tomorrow or AD (affiliated with UDF/RPR list)
    Cap sur l'Avenir (affiliated with PRG)
    Left Radical Party or PRG
    Rassemblement pour la Republique or RPR (now UMP)
    Saint Pierre and Miquelon 2000/Avenir Miquelon or SPM 2000/AM
    Socialist Party or PS
    Union pour la Democratie Francaise or UDF
    UPU, WFTU (NGOs)
    none (territorial overseas collectivity of France)
    none (territorial overseas collectivity of France)
    a yellow three-masted sailing ship facing the hoist side rides on a blue background with scattered, white, wavy lines under the ship; a continuous black-over-white wavy line divides the ship from the white wavy lines; on the hoist side, a vertical band is divided into three parts: the top part (called ikkurina) is red with a green diagonal cross extending to the corners overlaid by a white cross dividing the rectangle into four sections; the middle part has a white background with an ermine pattern; the third part has a red background with two stylized yellow lions outlined in black, one above the other; these three heraldic arms represent settlement by colonists from the Basque Country (top), Brittany, and Normandy; the blue on the main portion of the flag symbolizes the Atlantic Ocean and the stylized ship represents the Grande Hermine in which Jacques Cartier "discovered" the islands in 1536
    note: the flag of France used for official occasions
    16th-century sailing ship
    note: as a collectivity of France, "La Marseillaise" is official (see France)

Economy ::Saint Pierre and Miquelon

Energy ::Saint Pierre and Miquelon

Communications ::Saint Pierre and Miquelon

    4,800 (2010)
    country comparison to the world: 211
    general assessment: adequate
    international: country code - 508; radiotelephone communication with most countries in the world; satellite earth station - 1 in French domestic satellite system
    2 TV stations with a third repeater station, all part of the French Overseas Network; radio stations on St. Pierre and on Miquelon are part of the French Overseas Network (2007)
    15 (2012)
    country comparison to the world: 224

Transportation ::Saint Pierre and Miquelon