Introduction ::Samoa

    New Zealand occupied the German protectorate of Western Samoa at the outbreak of World War I in 1914. It continued to administer the islands as a mandate and then as a trust territory until 1962, when the islands became the first Polynesian nation to reestablish independence in the 20th century. The country dropped the "Western" from its name in 1997.

Geography ::Samoa

People and Society ::Samoa

Government ::Samoa

    conventional long form: Independent State of Samoa
    conventional short form: Samoa
    local long form: Malo Sa'oloto Tuto'atasi o Samoa
    local short form: Samoa
    former: Western Samoa
    parliamentary democracy
    name: Apia
    geographic coordinates: 13 49 S, 171 46 W
    time difference: UTC+13 (18 hours ahead of Washington, DC during Standard Time)
    +1hr, begins last Sunday in September; ends first Sunday in April
    11 districts; A'ana, Aiga-i-le-Tai, Atua, Fa'asaleleaga, Gaga'emauga, Gagaifomauga, Palauli, Satupa'itea, Tuamasaga, Va'a-o-Fonoti, Vaisigano
    1 January 1962 (from New Zealand-administered UN trusteeship)
    Independence Day Celebration, 1 June (1962); note - 1 January 1962 is the date of independence from the New Zealand-administered UN trusteeship; it is observed in June
    1 January 1962
    mixed legal system of English common law and customary law; judicial review of legislative acts with respect to fundamental rights of the citizen
    has not submitted an ICJ jurisdiction declaration; accepts ICCt jurisdiction
    21 years of age; universal
    chief of state: TUI ATUA Tupua Tamasese Efi (since 20 June 2007)
    head of government: Prime Minister TUILA'EPA Lupesoliai Sailele Malielegaoi (since 1998); Deputy Prime Minister FONOTOE Pierre Lauofo (since 2011)
    cabinet: Cabinet consists of 12 members appointed by the chief of state on the prime minister's advice
    (For more information visit the World Leaders website Opens in New Window)
    elections: chief of state elected by the Legislative Assembly to serve a five-year term (no term limits); election last held on 20 July 2012 (next to be held in 2017); following legislative elections, the leader of the majority party usually appointed prime minister by the chief of state with the approval of the Legislative Assembly
    election results: TUI ATUA Tupua Tamasese Efi unanimously elected by the Legislative Assembly
    unicameral Legislative Assembly or Fono (49 seats, 47 members elected by voters affiliated with traditional village-based electoral districts, 2 elected by independent, mostly non-Samoan or part-Samoan, voters who cannot (or choose not to) establish a village affiliation; only chiefs (matai) may stand for election to the Fono from the 47 village-based electorates; members serve five-year terms)
    elections: election last held on 4 March 2011 (next election to be held not later than March 2016)
    election results: percent of vote by party - NA; seats by party - HRPP 29, Tautua Samoa 13, independents 7
    highest court(s): Court of Appeal (consists of the chief justice and 2 Supreme Court judges and meets once or twice a year); Supreme Court (consists of the chief justice and several judges)
    judge selection and term of office: chief justice appointed by the head of state upon the advice of the prime minister; other Supreme Court judges appointed by the Judicial Service Commission, a 3-member body chaired by the chief justice and includes the attorney general and an appointee of the Minister of Justice; judges normally appointed until retirement at age 68
    subordinate courts: District Court; Magistrates' Courts; Land and Titles Courts; village fono or village chief councils
    Human Rights Protection Party or HRPP [Sailele Malielegaoi TUILA'EPA]
    Samoa Christian Party or TCP [Tuala Tiresa MALIETOA]
    Samoa Progressive Political Party or SPPP
    Tautua Samoa [Palusalue FA'APO II]
    chief of mission: Ambassador Aliioaiga Feturi ELISAIA
    chancery: 800 Second Avenue, Suite 400J, New York, NY 10017
    telephone: [1] (212) 599-6196 through 6197
    FAX: [1] (212) 599-0797
    consulate(s) general: Pago Pago (American Samoa)
    chief of mission: US Ambassador to New Zealand is accredited to Samoa
    embassy: Accident Corporation Building, 5th Floor, Matafele, Apia
    mailing address: P. O. Box 3430, Matafele, Apia
    telephone: [685] 21436/21631/21452/22696
    FAX: [685] 22030
    red with a blue rectangle in the upper hoist-side quadrant bearing five white five-pointed stars representing the Southern Cross constellation; red stands for courage, blue represents freedom, and white signifies purity
    Southern Cross constellation (five, five-pointed stars)
    name: "O le Fu'a o le Sa'olotoga o Samoa" (The Banner of Freedom)
    lyrics/music: Sauni Liga KURESA
    note: adopted 1962; the anthem is also known as "Samoa Tula'i" (Samoa Arise)

Economy ::Samoa

Energy ::Samoa

Communications ::Samoa

    35,300 (2010)
    country comparison to the world: 173
    167,400 (2010)
    country comparison to the world: 183
    general assessment: adequate
    domestic: combined fixed-line and mobile-cellular teledensity roughly 100 telephones per 100 persons
    international: country code - 685; satellite earth station - 1 Intelsat (Pacific Ocean) (2007)
    state-owned TV station privatized in 2008; 4 privately-owned television broadcast stations; about a half dozen privately owned radio stations and one state-owned radio station; TV and radio broadcasts of several stations from American Samoa are available (2009)
    18,013 (2012)
    country comparison to the world: 120
    9,000 (2009)
    country comparison to the world: 202

Transportation ::Samoa

Military ::Samoa